Montserrat’s Constitution and Commissions’ Secretariat was established in 2012. The purpose of the Secretariat is to provide research, analytic and policy support to 4 independent constitutionally and legislatively established Commissions.  These are the:

  1.  Complaints Commission
  2. Electoral Commission
  3. Integrity Commission
  4. Mercy Commission

Support to the Commissions is conducted in a manner which shows professional integrity, confidentiality regarding information being handled, political neutrality and sensitivity to the special needs of the public.

The commissions have all been guaranteed independence in the exercise of their functions by either the Montserrat-Constitution-Order-2010-SI-2010-No-2474 or their relevant legislation; they are therefore not subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority.  Members are appointed by His Excellency the Governor and the Commissions’ Secretariat is responsible to the Office of the Deputy Governor.